Saturday, December 13, 2008

Jonathan Mark Fowler makes his debut








Our baby boy was born on 12/12/08 at 6:21 pm. He weighed 6lb 13 oz and is 20 inches long. Of course I'm probably biased, but I think he is a beautiful baby. He has lots of dark hair, an olive complexion, and dark blue eyes (for now).










My water broke-- in bed, of course-- on Thursday night at 11:45. I actually heard a "POP" and then felt a huge gush. That was probably the fastest I have ever jumped out of bed, and I ran to the bathroom to grab a towel, then ran to the guest bedroom to wake up Steve. We had been sleeping in separate rooms due to my pregnancy snoring. I called the OB on call and he told me to head to the hospital. We rushed around getting things together, and finally arrived at the hospital at close to 1 am.






There was meconium (and lots of it) in my amniotic fluid, which was really gross. Because of this, they wanted me hooked up to the monitors which was a bummer because part of my birth plan had been that I wanted to be able to move around. This was the first of many things that didn't go according to plan. I was also told that I could forget about holding the baby immediately after birth, because they needed to take him and suction out the meconium so he wouldn't breathe it in. I was a little disappointed, but of course I wanted to do what was best for him.






The bed was so uncomfortable, and I hated being tied to it. I tried shifting positions every once in a while, but I soon had to stop doing that because his heart rate kept dropping. I wasn't having contractions on my own, so I had to be induced with pitocin. Another thing to defy my birth plan. It turned out he didn't seem to like the pitocin either, so they kept having to adjust the dosage, because his heart rate would drop if it got above a certain point.






I was doing pretty well with the contractions, and the nurses kept saying they were so impressed with how I was handling them. You could see on the monitor that they were strong, but I didn't think they were that bad. It was looking like I was going to be able to do this without drugs. But my contractions were very irregular throughout the whole 17 hours of labor, and at one point they were going on for 5 minutes straight with no break. That was what was hard to handle. I thought for sure that I'd have made great progress by the next time they checked me. Nope, I hadn't progressed at all. At this point, I broke down. I really was dead set against an epidural, but now it looked like I almost needed one. I made the decision to get one because in the end I realized it would be better for me and the baby. I couldn't relax during those intense contractions that came back to back, and therefore couldn't dilate. Looking back, I don't know why I was so against getting an epidural. It doesn't hurt the baby at all, and it made the remainder of my labor so much easier. I was already bed-ridden as it was, so there really was no reason for me to keep refusing it.




After just a few more hours, I started feeling the strong urge to push, so they checked me again and I was 9.5 cm dilated! I was so happy at this point. I started pushing at around 6pm, and at 6:21 Jonathan was born! Hearing those first cries truly was amazing. Even though he was across the room, I could not take my eyes off of him. I was barely aware of the dr stitching me up (I had a minor tear) or the delivery of the placenta. By the way, I donated the cord blood which was really easy since my hospital was a participant with the Carolinas Cord Blood Bank. All I had to do was sign some paperwork and they took care of the rest.




Life with a baby is really different. I love him to death, but I definitely have my moments of frustration. I know that it'll get better soon though, and I know that it was all worth it. I love my little man!


Monday, December 8, 2008

Annoyed

As if being uncomfortable as well as not knowing yet whether I will still have a job wasn't enough, I had to get dragged into Steve's family drama. First thing I saw this morning while checking my email was a very nasty email from one of his sisters calling us "bitter and stressed" because we moved to NC. She said that maybe it would be best if I got laid off because then we could move back. This was in response to something Steve had said to her, by the way. In a nutshell, his parents are having major financial difficulties, and Steve said that she and his other sister should start paying at least a little something for their childcare. Their mom watches the kids, and as far as anyone was aware, she was doing it for free. I don't think he was wrong in saying that, though maybe a little bold.

But what she said really pissed me off. First of all, we are WAY better off here in NC than we would have been in Northern Virginia, even if I get laid off. Especially if I get laid off. The COL is lower here and I make more money than I ever did up there. This could change if I do lose my job, but where is the logic in thinking that we'd be better off in a higher COL area if I didn't have a job? Second, it irritates me that she ASSumes we are even having any financial difficulties (barring me getting laid off, of course). We're actually totally fine, and we will be able to afford to pay for daycare. Hell, even if we did live up there and have Steve's mom watch the baby, we wouldn't be freeloaders-- we would pay. And it irritates me that anyone would even imply that Steve and I would be irresponsible enough to plan for a child if we couldn't afford it. And please note that I am not putting down people who struggle to provide for their child when the child wasn't planned for. But I would think it irresponsible to actually plan for a child knowing full well that you can't afford it.

So we are not "stressed and bitter." I was only angry that she loves to talk about how "well off" she and her husband are, but seems to never lift a finger when it comes to helping out her parents who have done so much for her.

Sorry, I realize that none of the above will make much sense to anyone who doesn't know the full story. I just needed to vent.

And now for this baby... Seriously, get out! I lost the MP, I'm pretty sure all of it. So get out already!

Saturday, December 6, 2008

Hours, Days, or Weeks

Could be TMI for some, so there's your warning.

Early this morning, like 4 am when I got up to pee, I had the beginnings of bloody show. Oh yes, lovely chunks of the mucous plug, complete with bits of blood. It's continued basically all day. Now, I know that it is most likely due to my internal yesterday, but still it's exciting. After all, I've never spotted before after an internal or even a PAP.

Some dear nesties would have my hopes all up about this, as they swear it means labor is imminent. But, the Mayo Clinic Guide AND my "when to call" sheet from the doctor's office both say that it doesn't mean much of anything. Labor could start within hours, days, or weeks, they say. So there's nothing to get all excited about. Better not be weeks, though. I would have to hurt someone.

So I will wait, as patiently as I can, for little J to make his appearance. And meanwhile, I'll be jealous of everyone else having their babies early. :)

Friday, December 5, 2008

38 week appointment

We have progress! One cm dilated, 70% effaced, -2 station. So at least something is happening. At least the crazy contractions I've been having have been worth something. I just hope that I continue to have things happen, because I am getting very uncomfortable now and am quite ready for this to be over.

Next Thursday I will find out whether or not I get to keep my job. I am scared, but I'm glad we at least have a date now. It really sucked not knowing when we would find out. I just pray that I don't get laid off. I really don't need that stress right now.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Contractions

I've been having some wicked contractions for the past few days. Oh, they're sporadic and not at all timeable, but still. They suck. I woke up with a particularly bad one at 4:30 this morning, and it lasted for at least 5 minutes. I had more after that, but they were less severe and weren't following any kind of pattern. Now I keep having them every once in a while at work too. I swear, I better have some progress at my appointment on Friday. Then at least these crazy cramps might be worth it.