Saturday, November 29, 2008

Thanksgiving drama

My parents came down to our house for Thanksgiving. We didn't want to go anywhere since I am 37 weeks pregnant. My dad went and picked up my brother in Harrisonburg, VA so he was here too.

My brother is a huge loser. Yeah, you might think I'm a total bitch for saying that, but it's true. Here is a kid with a ton of potential-- he's smart and very artistically talented, but he failed out of college his first semester and hasn't even attempted to go back. He's been living in H'burg mooching off of his friends, bouncing from job to job, having my parents pay his rent. Finally my mom cut him off in May, and of course he hates her for it. What could she do? She can't pay his rent forever. She had to put her foot down, and I don't blame her at all for it.

His girlfriend apparently broke up with him a couple of months ago because she was tired of him being a bum. I guess this has hit him pretty hard, but instead of using it as motivation to get better, he has gotten worse. Much worse. His hygiene has really gone downhill. Let's just say I was really glad I'm not in the first trimester, because he smelled so horrible it was hard to be around him even not being nauseated. And I was pretty grossed out the whole time he was here because I remain unconvinced that he actually ever washes his hands. So then the subject came up that he supposedly has a staph infection of some sort. I was a little concerned about this since I am pregnant and wasn't really sure if it was contagious or could be dangerous for the baby. I politely asked about it and he got this rude attitude with me, and pretty much didn't speak to me the rest of the time they were here.

It really sucks to love your brother because you have to, but not being able to like him. There is no way he and I can ever get along as long as he continues to be the way he is. He blames everyone but himself for his problems, and lashes out at anyone who has any constructive criticism for him. I hate seeing him waste his life away like he does, but nothing seems to get through to him. He can't keep any friends, and his girlfriend dumped him because she got tired of his way (and frankly, she's way too good for him anyway), and still he just doesn't get it. I feel bad for my parents because I know it hurts them to see their son turn out this way. We all keep hoping that one day he'll grow out of it, but he's been going down this path since he was in high school, and he's going to be 22 in February.

Anyway... I guess besides the drama with him, it was a nice Thanksgiving. Dinner was good, and it was crazy to think that this was our last Thanksgiving (and quite possibly our last holiday) without our little baby. I am full term today, and I can't wait to meet our sweet baby boy! But he can stay in there as long as he needs to, of course.

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

36 week appointment

I had my 36 week appointment today, and everything was good. The only thing is I'm measuring a little small, so they are going to do an ultrasound next week to check his growth. Hopefully everything is fine and he's just going to be a little on the smaller side. I had the Group B strep test, which was no fun but it wasn't bad. So, I'm a little sad that he is not measuring where he should be, but it's probably not a big deal at all. And hey, we get an extra ultrasound out of the deal!

On another note, people really suck. I won't elaborate on it, but it really makes me mad the lengths some people will go to in order to get back at others. A lesson learned here is that some people really cannot be trusted...

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Thoughts for the day

We have a new president-elect. Congratulations to Barack Obama. Though I did not vote for him, I will support him and hope that he does well for our country. I'm just happy I don't have to see political ads anymore!

And now for something that really pisses me off. In a thread on the Election 08 board, there was a little bit of a debate about abortion. The OP asked if those who didn't see the fetus as a human being have ever or would mourn their loss if they had a miscarriage. There were a couple of really insensitive posters who said they thought it was silly for a woman to mourn such a loss, and one said it was weird and "attention-seeking" to put it in your signature. Now, maybe she doesn't believe it's a life yet and I'll respect her opinion on that, but what a bitch. I sincerely hope she never has to go through a miscarriage, because obviously she has no idea what it's like to go through that. Before going through it myself, I never realized how much it could affect me, but I NEVER would have judged someone else for mourning their loss.

And happier news... I had an appointment yesterday, and all is well. He's head-down now, which is great. I hope he stays that way!