Monday, October 20, 2008

Sick of the election

I can't wait till November 4th, or maybe even 5th. I just want this crap over with. To be honest, I'm not thrilled with either candidate, but I know who I will vote for. I'm sick of all the ads, tired of the media bias, annoyed with all the name-calling, but most of all I cannot effing stand how misinformed so many people are. I don't care who people vote for, but it drives me nuts when their reasons behind it don't make any sense. I hate it when they can't tell you anything about the issues. And the hypocrisy is driving me nuts more than anything-- people telling others that they need to "do their own research rather than relying on what the media says" when 99.9% of the people saying this need to take their own advice! I have never been so ready for an election to be over.

Rant over.

Friday, October 17, 2008

Just getting by

Yesterday was the meeting that we've all been waiting for at work. We found out how many people our specific group is losing. We are being cut from 13 people down to 7. It really sucks, and makes me so sad. While I really don't think I am a logical choice to be laid off, you just never know. Even if I make the cut, I'll be sad for everyone else. This whole situation just sucks.

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Baby Shower - 30 Weeks!

Yesterday was the baby shower that my mom threw for us. We had such a wonderful time, and the best part was that my grandparents were there! That was a big surprise, and I got all teary-eyed when I saw them. My brother also made it down with his girlfriend, and Steve's mom and 3 sisters were there too.

The shower was lovely. My mom did a wonderful job putting it together. Her friend Barbara made an amazing cake for it, with 4 different layers, all with different flavors. We got such nice gifts from everyone, the best of which were of course the hand-made things. My aunt Barbara sent a beautiful quilt. My Busia (that's Polish for grandmother) knitted washcloths, a blanket, and a bottle holder. And my granddad made a gorgeous cradle. It is absolutely beautiful, I can't even express how amazing it is. It's so well-made, I know it can be passed down in the family for generations.

Our niece Zoey was so cute. She walked up to my belly, which is eye-level for her, and asked, "Is that the baby?" I said, "Yes, that's the baby!" And then she gave my belly a kiss, and said, "I want to see him!" So adorable. She's 3, and I love how little kids just say the cutest things.

So, it was a wonderful time, and I'll post some pictures when I get them.

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Elijah Robert Knowles is here!

Jen had her baby today, at exactly 42 weeks! She went in for induction last night, but was already in the beginning stages of labor, so she got to do it without induction like she wanted. I am so happy for her and Eric! He was born at 12:05pm and weighs 8 lbs, 12 oz! Big baby! I'm glad I didn't buy her any newborn sized stuff! I don't know anymore details, because I just got this info from her sister on facebook, but I'm so happy for her. I can't wait to see pictures of him, and of course I can't wait to meet him.

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Damn

I just realized that I forgot to go to my doctor's appointment today. I feel like a complete ass. I hope they don't charge me for the missed appointment, but I think they probably will. I thought I wasn't letting the impending layoffs affect me, but I guess I am. I'm not one to forget appointments. I wonder if they'll let me claim pregnancy brain.

Monday, October 6, 2008

Not dealing well with change today

I know it's silly to get so bent out of shape over these things, but seriously the changes are too much for me today. They changed over to the new format on the Nest, which I hate, but I could deal with it if it wasn't running so horribly slow. I have hardly been on it today because I can't deal with the slowness. And if that's not enough, I really would like to delete something from our BRU registry, but the registry portion of the website is down... as it has been for the past several days. This is just great, considering I have two showers coming up soon.

I know. These are really trivial things to be upset about, but I can't help it... I'm in a horrible mood. I guess I'll just blame it on the hormones.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Weekend

Steve has been sick all weekend, and frankly it's a miracle I haven't gotten it yet. Knock on wood.

Yesterday I went downtown with Heather to the new convention center for a big shopping event. There were so many cute things there, especially baby things, but I didn't buy much. I got a 3D replica of Shea Stadium, and a really cute baby hat that was too adorable to pass up. He won't be able to wear it until probably next winter, but so cute.

Today I had brunch with the girls at Bogarts, which was fabulous as always. I met some new people who were pretty cool too. On my way home I stopped at a costume shop that Heather recommended a while ago, because Christine's Halloween party theme was annoying me. I couldn't figure out what the heck to do, because the theme is TV characters. I'm pregnant, and therefore was at a loss for who I could be. The lady at the shop was so helpful, though, and so it's settled. Steve and I will be Lucy and Ricky, from I Love Lucy! Should be fun.

So yeah, that was my lame weekend, but hey... I actually did more this weekend than I have been doing recently.

Friday, October 3, 2008

New pictures of Jon

In my belly - 28 weeks



Sweet baby J's 3D ultrasound - 28 weeks





Here we go again

Layoffs. Again. Last year around this time, layoffs were announced. They held it over our heads for over 2 months, and we all fretted and worried and stressed out. We only lost one person from our group, as well as one supervisor, last December. This time, all we know so far is that our department of 81 people is losing 28. If I had to guess, I would say that our group will lose 5 people and one supervisor.

For the baby's sake, I am not allowing myself to stress out this time. It's hard sometimes, though, because everyone at work is freaking out. They all talk about it constantly, they all look depressed, and some people have even cried about it. What is the point of crying? It won't change the outcome. I hope I'm not laid off, especially with a baby on the way, but if it happens we will survive. We have savings, I'd get 3 months severence, and I could file for unemployment. Hopefully I'd find another decent job by this time next year.

I don't know... I just can't think about it anymore. Thank God it's the weekend, so I can at least escape for a couple of days.