Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Got to see our embryo!


It looks like a grain of rice! Yesterday we had our first official ultrasound, and it was great because we could actually see the embryo and its heartbeat! Although I have been so nauseous for the past few days and have had no appetite, seeing that makes it all worth it! Steve seems to be excited too. He took the picture to work and scanned it in so he could e-mail it to everyone. I'm so happy... though still cautiously optimistic.


Friday, April 25, 2008

Bret Michaels concert

I can't believe it, but I actually went to see Bret Michaels last night with Heather and some of her other friends. Surprisingly, it was a good show! It was weird to quite possibly be the only 100% sober person in the crowd, but I still had fun. Before the show got started, we got our picture taken with "Big John," whom I'm sure in a few years I will not remember. I will probably look back at the picture and wonder who that random dude is. The show was great, Bret Michaels is a really good performer, and he played a good mix of new stuff and Poison songs. He played a few covers as well. I was so very tired by the end, though, so I was grateful when it ended.

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Feeling much better

I went to the doctor today because the pain hasn't subsided. He did an ultrasound, and it turns out I have an ovarian cyst and that has been what's causing me pain. He said it's no big deal and should go away in a couple of weeks. The awesome thing is, I got to see the gestational sac, so I sort of saw what there is so far of my baby! It was really cool. It's nice to see proof that I'm definitely pregnant, besides a positive pregnancy test. And now I don't have to freak out every time I feel a little twinge.

I'm so bloated already... I ordered a bella band today. I can't believe I ordered a maternity thing. Yesterday I ordered a pregnancy book and a book about caring for a baby. I have no clue about infant care, so this should be really helpful to me!

Tuesday, April 15, 2008

A little scared

I've been having sharp pains off and on, on my left side, all day. The first one this morning was so bad I had to stop what I was doing and rest for a moment until it passed. Other than that, it has been rather mild, but still scares the crap out of me considering what happened last time. Steve was worried and convinced me to call the doctor... and I'm glad because she made me feel a lot better. She said it's most likely just normal growing pains, and that I shouldn't worry too much unless there is spotting as well, which so far there isn't. She did say, though, that if it continues tomorrow I can call the office and get in for an ultrasound just to make sure it's not an ectopic pregnancy. The thought of that itself is scary, because it would automatically mean that I'd have to terminate. But I don't think that's it... it's probably just growing pains. She even said it's common to have them on just one side. So I'm trying to stay positive and just hope that everything will be all right.

Thursday, April 10, 2008

Friday for me!

I'm so excited that I don't have to work tomorrow. I definitely do not regret taking the day off. It just so happens my first doctor appointment is tomorrow too! And then I'll have time to pack and get ready for the trip to Fairfax. I hope everything goes well at the appointment, and I am still hoping and praying that I get to have a healthy baby this time.

Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Here we go again?

This morning, I gave in to temptation and took one of the cheap pregnancy tests. I figured I have a bunch of them and they're cheap anyway, so what's the harm? Well it was positive. A faint positive, but still positive. I'm actually not too excited about it yet because of what happened last time. I also know that since I tested so early, it could wind up being a chemical pregnancy. I'm going to wait until Friday and try again.

I want to be excited... I really do. But I'm worried that I'd be setting myself up for disappointment if I allow myself to be. So for now I'm trying not to think about it too much. Steve said he's not that excited yet for the same reasons I'm not. It was hard for both of us to have our hopes dashed last time. Not really looking forward to that again.

Friday, April 4, 2008

Realization

My cycles apparently aren't as long as I thought. So when I had the miscarriage, I thought I was only 4 weeks, 6 days. But I was really 5 weeks, 3 days. I know in the end it doesn't make that much of a difference... it's only 4 days. But it feels almost like a bigger loss now.

Everyone says that Marcie will be waiting for me in heaven. I wonder if my poppyseed will too. Maybe Marcie is taking care of Poppyseed.

Thursday, April 3, 2008

Missing Marcie


Monday was the day we said goodbye to Marcie. She was getting worse and worse every day, and her quality of life wasn't good enough anymore to keep her hanging on. It was hard, but I know we did the right thing. And I know that we gave her the best 4 years of her life, and that she loved us so much. Lily is a little lonely now, but we're trying to give her extra love and attention.




So not much else is new... I'm hoping that this cycle was it for us, that we might soon have another little poppyseed on the way. Jen e-mailed her ultrasound pics today, and they were so very cute! I'm so happy for her, but I have to admit it made me tear up to see the pics. I would have been 4 months along by now if I hadn't miscarried, and I'd be looking at my own ultrasound pics very soon. I'm not jealous though... I'm truly happy for them. I know that I'll have my own when it's meant to be.


Work has been ridiculous this week. Jay causes more drama than I thought possible. He and L got into it the other day, and it was all so childish... Jay went running to T to tattle on L that she was "rude" to him. What a loser! So T made the entire group have a meeting about this. Ridiculous. Why do I need to be dragged into their stupid fight? It annoyed the crap out of me. And today, I heard that Jay told T that he is the best employee there. Oh my God, that might be the funniest thing I have ever heard! He is by FAR the WORST! He is not right in the head, I'm convinced. And I have to work with the bastard this weekend. Great.